top of page


Dear Students and Parents,

I am delighted to welcome you to Lower Brule Community College where our heritage, mission, and educational values grew out of the virtues of the Oceti Sakowin (Seven Council Fires): Respect, Honesty, Compassion, Generosity, Prayer, Humility, and Wisdom.


Our students, faculty, and staff are dedicated to a sense of community, honoring of our rich cultural tradition and committed to education rooted in academic quality, career relevance, and personal empowerment.


It is our goal to have our students be prepared to succeed in their personal and professional lives and serve as positive role models for future generations!


Dr. Natalie Anderson

College President

Our History

The Lower Brule Sioux Tribe chartered the Lower Brule Community College on February 3, 1993 and the college became incorporated on March 16, 1993. The College’s purpose has always been “. . . to provide educational programs and to establish and operate an educational institution at the post-secondary level on the Lower Brule Sioux Indian

Reservation.”  After twenty-eight years, the college is stronger than ever. LBCC and staff  are ready for the growth and expansion the community desires. Lower Brule Community College has the power “…to grant appropriate degrees…” as noted in the College’s Articles of Incorporation.

Our Board Members

From Left to Right: Jeshua Estes - Member; Wilma Wilson - Treasurer; Lydia Sazue - Member; Joelle Battese - Secretary; Boyd Gorneau - Vice Chairman; Cody Russell - Chairman of the Board.

bottom of page